Food Hygiene Rating Scheme

What is the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme (FHRS)?

What is the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme (FHRS)?

The scheme is run in partnership between Buckinghamshire Council and the Food Standards Agency.

It gives information about the hygiene standards in food premises, helping residents decide where to eat out or shop for food.

It recognises those business with the highest standards and encourages others to improve.

How is the rating calculated?

Each business is given a rating following an inspection by a food safety officer, based on how well the business is meeting the requirements of food hygiene law at the time.

The rating reflects the conditions found at the time of the last inspection and doesn’t reflect the quality of food of the standards of service that the business provides.

What are the different ratings?

Each business is given one of 6 ratings (0 to 5).

All businesses should be able to achieve the top rating of 5. For information on how to achieve the highest rating, read the good food hygiene guide.

Businesses are given a window sticker and certificate showing their rating and are encouraged to display these at their premises. Display is voluntary.

You can look up food hygiene ratings on the Food Standards Agency website.

Unhappy with your business’ food hygiene rating?

If you own a food business and believe the rating you’ve been given is unfair, you have 3 options:

1. appeal – you can appeal within 21 days of receiving your rating.
2. right to reply – you can give an explanation of the actions you’ve taken following the inspect, or provide information to mitigate the findings of the inspection
3. request a re-inspection

If you need more information please contact us.

More information

About food hygiene ratings