Candidates revealed for Riverside and Southcourt by-elections

27 Jul 2017

The candidates for by-elections on 17 August have been announced. There are fifteen candidates in total across two district wards and one town council ward. The nominations are (in alphabetical order):

Riverside District Ward (Quarrendon and Berryfields)

Jason Samuel Bingley (Liberal Democrat), John Anthony Cowell (Labour Party), Phil Gomm (UKIP), Mary Hodgskiss (Green Party), Ashley Waite (Conservative).

Southcourt District Ward

Julie Elizabeth Atkins (Green Party), Geoffrey Arthur Baile (UKIP), Ansar Gulzar (Labour), Akhmad Hussain (Conservative), Sally-Anne Jarvis (Liberal Democrat).

Southcourt Town Council Ward

Julie Elizabeth Atkins (Green Party), Debbie Huntley (UKIP), Asalat Khan (Conservative), Waheed Khan Raja (Liberal Democrat), Carmel Traynor (Labour).

Anyone who lives in the Riverside and Southcourt Wards and whose name is on the electoral register can vote. Polling cards have been dispatched to those who are already registered and postal votes will be sent to voters from 25 July.

Peter Brown, Electoral Services Manager, said: “Following resignations by Nick Lewis (Conservative) and Peter Agoro (Liberal Democrat) at the end of June, we will be holding the by-elections for the two districts and one Aylesbury town seats on 17 August. Residents are reminded that they can vote by post if they are away on this date and that the deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on Wednesday 2 August. Alternatively, you can vote at your local polling station between 7am and 10pm on 17 August.”

Residents who aren’t already registered should apply via by Tuesday 1 August. For assistance from our electoral team, please call 01296 585701.


« Back to news