New cabinet appointed to drive council forward

28 May 2015

Following the recent local elections, Aylesbury Vale District Council has announced its top team to drive the council forward and tackle the upcoming financial challenges.

The cabinet is responsible for most day-to-day decisions at the council, determining its policies and budget, ensuring that Aylesbury Vale residents get the best value for the council tax they pay.

Councillor Neil Blake retains his post as Leader of the Council, having overall accountability for the council’s services, and responsibility for major projects such as the redevelopment of Aylesbury town centre. He will be supported by Councillor Steve Bowles as his new Deputy, who retains responsibility for economic development delivery.

Councillor Carole Paternoster will continue to lead the district’s growth strategy, Councillor Sir Beville Stanier remains in charge of environment and waste, while Councillor Howard Mordue has switched from leisure to finance and resources.

Councillor Janet Blake will take on the new business transformation brief with responsibility for the council’s commercial approach to the financing of services, the digital strategy and the business case for a unitary authority for the Vale.

The line-up also sees Councillor Angela Macpherson brought into cabinet as the new Cabinet Member for Leisure, Communities and Civic Amenities.

Councillor Neil Blake, Leader of the Council, said: “I am delighted to be able to bring together such a strong team as my cabinet. We have a great mix of experience, talent and ideas to really help continue to drive this council forward and deliver good value for every taxpayer’s pound.

“In the next 12 months we know we will undoubtedly face further significant pressures on our budget: a challenge which we will again not shrink from. We now have a dedicated cabinet member for business transformation, who will play a key role in our commercial and entrepreneurial approach as we aim to generate more revenue.

“This will be a transforming cabinet, one that will evolve with the changes Aylesbury Vale will face over the coming years, and I am dedicated to giving the best opportunities to everyone who lives, works and visits our district now, and for generations to come.”

The full cabinet line-up is:
• Councillor Neil Blake, Leader and Cabinet Member for Major Projects
• Councillor Steve Bowles, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Economic Development Delivery
• Councillor Carole Paternoster, Cabinet Member for Growth Strategy
• Councillor Janet Blake, Cabinet Member for Business Transformation
• Councillor Howard Mordue, Cabinet Member for Finance, Resources and Compliance
• Councillor Sir Beville Stanier, Cabinet Member for Environment and Waste
• Councillor Angela Macpherson, Cabinet Member for Leisure, Communities and Civic Amenities

The new Chairman of the Council is Councillor Jenny Bloom, taking over from Councillor Michael Rand. Councillor Sue Renshell will be the Deputy Chairman.

All these appointments were formally ratified at the annual meeting of AVDC yesterday (27 May).

« Back to news